M11 Draft #1

I don’t know if this will become a regular thing or not (chances are not due to money restraints) but I got tempted today to play some MTGO as I haven’t for over a month, maybe two. Either way, after the first round I decided it might be fun to document said draft and do a bit of a walkthrough for the old blog. Here it is: 

I played one M11 pre-release to Top 8, out of approximately 32 players. It was a reasonable pool and I only lost to two of the players who went undefeated for much of the day due to a mixture of sick pools and them being good players. Here’s my first draft, which turned out to be a 4-3-2-2. (A quick note about 8-4 versus 4-3-2-2 drafts: I know a lot of people don’t bother with the 4-3-2-2s because of a perceived decrease in player ability, as well as a few who gun for QPs and bigger prizes, yet I know plenty of others who argue that you only need to win one of your three matches, and open a half decent card or two, to make two thirds of your cash back. I tend to flit between the two depending on the format and my experience with it. In this case, an 8-4 had just fired whilst this one had 6 players waiting to go, and I wanted to draft right then).

I’m not clever enough (read: can’t be arsed) to convert the actual draft into a nice visual format so here’s some highlights and the eventual list plus notable sideboard options: First pack, first pick was Day of Judgment, the two Pyromancers followed swiftly, and my colours were fairly open throughout. Third pack got the dividends with my dragon, both 187 dudes and more removal.

1 Hoarding Dragon
1 White Knight
1 Infantry Veteran
2 Squadron Hawk
2 Prodigal Pyromancer
1 War Priest of Thune
1 Manic Vandal
1 Juggernaut
1 Berserkers of Blood Ridge
1 Roc Egg
1 Canyon Minotaur
1 Ajani’s Pridemate
1 Vulshok Beserker

2 Act of Treason
1 Fling
1 Chandra’s Outrage
1 Condemn
1 Day of Judgment
1 Mighty Leap
1 Lava Axe

9 Mountain
8 Plains

Round 1
My opponent is on U/W skies with Serra Angel, a few reasonable dudes (White Knight) and a few tricks. I play around Mana Leak both games but he doesn’t seem to have any countermagic.
Game 1: I have a relatively fast start and land a Dragon which immediately gets hit by Pacifism, but a combination of Act of Treason + Fling to clear his side of the board leads to the concession.
Game 2: He’s forced to mulligan to 4, but still sticks a turn 5 Serra Angel. Day of Judgment clears the board after he’s Excommunicate-d my Pyromancer and I’m still holding the Hawk I fetched up the turn before, allowing me to re-establish much quicker than he can.
Win 2-0

Round 2
My opponent is also R/W, and is basically on the stick a dude, give it some kind of pump/evasion and shroud plan.
Game 1: He wins off of the back of the aforementioned plan, and I couldn’t draw my artifact/enchantment removal in time to bring it down to size. Siege Mastodon + Shiv’s Embrace + Whispersilk Cloak = a pretty swift demise.
Game 2: I nicked his suited-up dude and beat him round the face with it, hurrah!
Game 3: See Game 1, basically. I had Wrath to gain some early advantage, but he pulls it off again as I don’t draw any artifact or enchantment removal, nor either act of treason. Bummer.
Lose 1-2 (Boo!)

Round 3… Better luck next time, eh?

0 Responses to “M11 Draft #1”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome to my blog.

Twitter Feed

Categories


