A post about… Go

It’s just something of interest.

Sweet.

Or, at least, it used to be. Chatting with my grandparents this morning about last night’s continuing D&D campaign (note to self: do not shout out loudly into a pitch black room just because Laura says so – bad times) it became obvious to me that when I first got in to gaming it was through this game Go, via chess. They remembered a time when I was about seven years old, going off to chess club and then one day returning with the information that I had picked up this new game instead. As an aside, I was never that good at chess (and I’m still not) but I’m pretty sure I was halfway decent at Go back in the day. The problem is that I haven’t played this game for a good ten years at least, largely because I started to get into Warhammer and games like that, and yet I remember it being absolutely brilliant. So I shall be digging out my set, and trying to re-familiarise myself with the game if anybody fancies playing…

The very basic gist of gameplay is:

  • It is played on a board, on which there is a 19×19 grid
  • It is for two players, one playing with black stones, the other white as with a lot of things
  • Players take turns alternately placing pieces on the intersections of those grid lines, they do not move
  • The object of the game is to surround more territory with your pieces than your opponent with his
  • If a player completely surrounds another player’s pieces they are considered captured and removed
  • Have great tactical fun!

Chatting about games design after the session last night with Barrett got me thinking about what makes games appealing, entertaining, challenging enough, etc. to become popular and succeed. He is trying to create a simple and intuitive, but balanced and engaging WWII miniatures game using various models – chances are Airfix – whilst making sure that things like unit sizes and special rules are as evocative and true to history as possible, and it’s no small task. The base rules he has at the moment sound pretty damn good though, and we’ll be testing for balance soon. Game theory is an enormous topic, and maybe it’ll get covered another day on this blog, but suffice to say that Go always did it for me because it was very simple to pick up, had seemingly very easy rules, yet was unbelievably tactical. Good times.

3 Responses to “A post about… Go”


  1. 1 Binky August 21, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    oh dont get me started on game design theory…. LONG SUBJECT IS LONG! haha


  1. 1 A post about… Choose your own adventure. « Therein lies a story… Trackback on August 27, 2010 at 1:13 am

Leave a Reply

Welcome to my blog.

Twitter Feed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Categories


