Playing Scar’ds

So, I did the first of hopefully many Scars of Mirrodin drafts at Inner Sanctum Collectibles the other night and wanted to write a little bit about the choices I made, and how they’re informing my Games Day brewing. Pack one, pick one was the first decisive moment of the draft: Myrsmith over Contagion Clasp. Probably a strictly incorrect pick, but I went on the gambit – one card obviously a very solid first pick, that will always be good; one that has the potential to be busted. Thankfully, it all worked out, as I ended up with this list:

David Tennant is a planeswalker. Lol.

2 Glint Hawk
1 Myrsmith
2 Trinket Mage
1 Vulshok Replica
1 Gold Myr
1 Silver Myr
1 Sunspear Shikari
1 Neurok Invisimancer
2 Ghalma’s Warden
1 Lumengrid Drake
1 Razor Hippogriff
1 Glint Hawk Idol
1 Venser, the Sojourner
2 Revoke Existence
2 Infiltration Lens
1 Accorder’s Shield
1 Flight Spellbomb
1 Sylvok Lifestaff
8 Plains
7 Island
2 Mountain

(The Venser I opened in Pack 2 was obviously the second decisive moment of the draft.)
The drafting process and the games I played afterwards taught me quite a few useful lessons, especially as I had only really gone for it because it was new and I really wanted to draft – not because the set as a whole, individual cards or potential money rares actually appealed very much. Here’s what I learned…

  1. The W/u weenie/metalcraft archetype is valid in draft provided you get the pieces (in my case just enough equipment and some nice low drops, plus my gamble first pick). Next time I may be inclined to force it a little more, as I let some good blue pass me by Pack 1 when I thought I might be splashing red instead (Riddlesmith being the biggest loss I can remember).
  2. Revoke Existence is actually the nuts removal in this format. It nerfs nearly everything.
  3. I need to find some better answers to the infect deck – my highly suspicious sideboard tech did not pan out, and there seems to be a dearth of good non-black removal for non-artifact dudes.
  4. Artifact count – seriously, my deck really needed another 2-3 artifacts to be decent, I just had most of the pieces, most of the time in this particular draft.
  5. Signalling in triple Scars is pretty horrible, much like the last point this is probably glaringly obvious – but something to watch out for none-the-less.
  6. Format knowledge is key – I so nearly punted in the third round against an infect deck where I could put him dead on board next turn with my three dudes and he only had a 1 power infect guy (I was on 4 counters). I spent a while trying to figure out if he had Putrefax or something similar or not, as I didn’t know what pump spells were in the format and was rewarded when he scooped showing me the XG pump instant and his seventh and mana source (yikes!).
  7. And finally… Open a planeswalker, win more games. Lol.

The rounds themselves were fairly straightforward. I made a bunch of Myr with the ‘Smith in the first against a blue/black deck that didn’t do a huge amount and swarmed hard. I also got an Infection Lens on my Sunspear Shikari and got to about 30-odd life before he deigned to block… and then I draw two cards AND stick it on another creature? Value. (Though it is not the second coming of Skullclamp, contrary to some popular opinion). In the second I found Venser both games against red/white (with Koth!) and popped his ultimate (so much fun). In the third I just raced the green/black poison deck though he did get one game in, and I only scraped it because I played tight and he got confused as to who was the beatdown (i.e. me on the play – Michael J. Flores, by the way, what a legend) and so chucked back a hand with something like three lands, four removal spells but no infect dudes. Overall I went 7-1 in games, and got a shiny Koth for my troubles (read: for my pleasure). In fact, I enjoyed playing this style of deck in draft so much that I thought I’d put together a constructed version for this Halloween’s Games Day. It’s pretty similar to most lists of this style, with some sideboard options tailored to what I expect in my local area and one or two cards in the main still undecided. Also added the Tectonic Edges (once again, the influence of Flores).

(23) Creatures:
4 Glint Hawk
4 Memnite
4 Myrsmith
4 Ornithopter
4 Riddlesmith
3 Steel Overseer
(12) Artifacts:
1 Brittle Effigy
4 Chimeric Mass
4 Glint Hawk Idol
3 Mox Opal
(4) Enchantments:
4 Tempered Steel
(21) Lands:
2 Celestial Colonnade
2 Glacial Fortress
4 Island
6 Plains
4 Seachrome Coast
3 Tectonic Edge
(15)
Brittle Effigy
4 Flashfreeze
4 Leyline of the Void
1 Linvala, Keeper of Silence
4 Revoke Existence

We’ll see how it works out on the day!


0 Responses to “Playing Scar’ds”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome to my blog.

Twitter Feed

Categories


