SOM Online Draft #2

Yes, I know I didn’t post draft #1. That was last week sometime, and I split in the finals of an 8-4 with a very reasonable WUR metalcraft deck with double Arrest, Galvanic Blast, Darksteel Juggernaut, 2x Myr Galvanizer, 2x ‘Sol Ring’ Myr + 5 various other Myr. Was good!

This then is draft #2 online, and it was supposed to have fancy images and stuff like the ones you see on SCG and other websites like that, but none of the converters wanted to work for me except the plain text one:

Pack 1 pick 1:
Plated Seastrider, Neurok Invisimancer, Ghalma’s Warden, Leaden Myr, Moriok Reaver, Corpse Cur, Cystbearer, Slice in Twain, Volition Reins, Bleak Coven Vampires, Origin Spellbomb, Palladium Myr, Mountain, Venser’s Journal, Argentum Armor (FOIL)

My pick:
Palladium Myr (strictly incorrect, but I had a plan – don’t try this at home kiddies)

Pack 1 pick 2:
Necropede, Memnite, Neurok Invisimancer, Kuldotha Rebirth, Blunt the Assault, Vigil for the Lost, Galvanic Blast, Bleak Coven Vampires, Moriok Replica, Flight Spellbomb, Panic Spellbomb, Disperse, Mountain (FOIL), Forest

My pick:
Galvanic Blast

Pack 1 pick 3:
Halt Order, Blight Mamba, Seize the Initiative, Ichorclaw Myr, Turn Aside, Kuldotha Phoenix, Abuna Acolyte, Barbed Battlegear, Sunspear Shikari, Vulshok Replica, Withstand Death, Auriok Replica, Plains

My pick:
Kuldotha Phoenix

Here we go!

Pack 1 pick 4:
Perilous Myr, Barrage Ogre, Salvage Scout, Galvanic Blast, Bleak Coven Vampires, Tainted Strike, Heavy Arbalest, Screeching Silcaw, Razorfield Thresher, Trigon of Mending, Golden Urn, Swamp

My pick:
Galvanic Blast

Pack 1 pick 5:
Sky-Eel School, Kuldotha Rebirth, Copperhorn Scout, Dross Hopper, Moriok Reaver, Glint Hawk, Glimmerpost, Nihil Spellbomb, Saberclaw Golem, Forest, Fulgent Distraction

My pick:
Dross Hopper

Pack 1 pick 6:
Kemba’s Skyguard, Blade-Tribe Berserkers, Iron Myr, Necrogen Censer, Goblin Gaveleer, Dissipation Field, Throne of Geth, Glimmerpost, Disperse, Island

My pick:
Iron Myr

Pack 1 pick 7:
Plated Seastrider, Ghalma’s Warden, Dross Hopper, Steady Progress, Trigon of Thought, Nihil Spellbomb, Soul Parry, Mountain, Ogre Geargrabber

My pick:
Dross Hopper

Pack 1 pick 8:
Wing Puncture, Barrage Ogre, Goblin Gaveleer, Auriok Edgewright, Snapsail Glider, Relic Putrescence, Stoic Rebuttal, Mountain

My pick:
Goblin Gaveleer

Pack 1 pick 9:
Plated Seastrider, Neurok Invisimancer, Ghalma’s Warden, Leaden Myr, Moriok Reaver, Bleak Coven Vampires, Mountain

My pick:
Leaden Myr

Pack 1 pick 10:
Memnite, Kuldotha Rebirth, Blunt the Assault, Vigil for the Lost, Mountain (FOIL), Forest

My pick:
Memnite

Pack 1 pick 11:
Seize the Initiative, Turn Aside, Abuna Acolyte, Withstand Death, Plains

My pick:
Seize the Initiative

Pack 1 pick 12:
Bleak Coven Vampires, Razorfield Thresher, Golden Urn, Swamp

My pick:
Bleak Coven Vampires

Pack 1 pick 13:
Glimmerpost, Nihil Spellbomb, Forest

My pick:
Nihil Spellbomb

Pack 1 pick 14:
Goblin Gaveleer, Island

My pick:
Goblin Gaveleer

Pack 1 pick 15:
Mountain

My pick:
Mountain

Pack 2 pick 1:
Kuldotha Rebirth, Tel-Jilad Defiance, Genesis Wave, Galvanic Blast, Neurok Replica, Grafted Exoskeleton, Acid Web Spider, Relic Putrescence, Flight Spellbomb, Chrome Steed, Stoic Rebuttal, Liquimetal Coating, Saberclaw Golem (FOIL), Plains, Fulgent Distraction

My pick:
Galvanic Blast

Pack 2 pick 2:
Kemba’s Skyguard, Sky-Eel School, Revoke Existence, Oxidda Scrapmelter, Instill Infection, Soliton, Strider Harness, Darksteel Sentinel, Auriok Sunchaser, Moriok Replica, Bellowing Tanglewurm, Auriok Replica, Mountain, Scrapdiver Serpent

My pick:
Oxidda Scrapmelter

Pack 2 pick 3:
Copper Myr, Revoke Existence, Ichor Rats, Lumengrid Drake, Leaden Myr, Bloodshot Trainee, Moriok Reaver, Ferrovore, Silver Myr, Alpha Tyrranax, Cystbearer, Liquimetal Coating, Swamp

My pick:
Liquimetal Coating

Pack 2 pick 4:
Necropede, Neurok Invisimancer, Shatter, Ichor Rats, Turn Aside, Ferrovore (FOIL), Thrummingbird, Alpha Tyrranax, Wall of Tanglecord, Whitesun’s Passage, Scoria Elemental, Swamp

My pick:
Shatter

Pack 2 pick 5:
Ezuri’s Archers, Assault Strobe, Ichorclaw Myr, Dross Hopper (FOIL), Vulshok Replica, Echo Circlet, Turn to Slag, Flight Spellbomb, Trigon of Mending, Forest, Ogre Geargrabber

My pick:
Vulshok Replica

Pack 2 pick 6:
Oxidda Daredevil, Ichorclaw Myr, Furnace Celebration, Blistergrub, Tel-Jilad Fallen, Flameborn Hellion, Plague Stinger, Withstand Death, Screeching Silcaw, Island

My pick:
Furnace Celebration

Pack 2 pick 7:
Seize the Initiative, Turn Aside, Corpse Cur, Psychic Miasma, Twisted Image, Vedalken Certarch, Molder Beast, Island, Engulfing Slagwurm

My pick:
Engulfing Slagwurm

Pack 2 pick 8:
Assault Strobe, Alpha Tyrranax, Relic Putrescence, Panic Spellbomb, Soul Parry, Molten Psyche, Forest, Scrapdiver Serpent

My pick:
Panic Spellbomb

Pack 2 pick 9:
Kuldotha Rebirth, Tel-Jilad Defiance, Acid Web Spider, Flight Spellbomb, Stoic Rebuttal, Saberclaw Golem (FOIL), Plains

My pick:
Kuldotha Rebirth

Pack 2 pick 10:
Sky-Eel School, Soliton, Darksteel Sentinel, Auriok Replica, Mountain, Scrapdiver Serpent

My pick:
Darksteel Sentinel

Pack 2 pick 11:
Copper Myr, Moriok Reaver, Ferrovore, Alpha Tyrranax, Swamp

My pick:
Ferrovore

Pack 2 pick 12:
Alpha Tyrranax, Whitesun’s Passage, Scoria Elemental, Swamp

My pick:
Whitesun’s Passage

Pack 2 pick 13:
Assault Strobe, Flight Spellbomb, Forest

My pick:
Flight Spellbomb

Pack 2 pick 14:
Oxidda Daredevil, Island

My pick:
Oxidda Daredevil

Pack 2 pick 15:
Island

My pick:
Island

Pack 3 pick 1:
Plated Seastrider, Untamed Might, Iron Myr, Leaden Myr, Viridian Revel, Razor Hippogriff, Tel-Jilad Fallen, Bladed Pinions, Auriok Sunchaser, Razorfield Thresher, Scoria Elemental, Island, Molten-Tail Masticore, Fume Spitter, Myr Galvanizer

My pick:
Molten-Tail Masticore

Here we go again!

Pack 3 pick 2:
Wing Puncture, Melt Terrain, Neurok Invisimancer, Vulshok Heartstoker, Steady Progress, Arc Trail, Necrotic Ooze, Loxodon Wayfarer, Darksteel Myr, Echo Circlet, Acid Web Spider, Chrome Steed, Stoic Rebuttal, Forest

My pick:
Arc Trail

Pack 3 pick 3:
Glint Hawk Idol, Blade-Tribe Berserkers, Razor Hippogriff, Blistergrub, Glint Hawk, Darksteel Sentinel, Barbed Battlegear, Prototype Portal, Accorder’s Shield, Tainted Strike, Golden Urn, Plains, Fume Spitter

My pick:
Fume Spitter

Pack 3 pick 4:
Rusted Relic, Blistergrub, Infiltration Lens, Salvage Scout, Whitesun’s Passage, Bladed Pinions, Galvanic Blast, Moriok Replica, Accorder’s Shield, Scoria Elemental, Swamp, Scrapdiver Serpent

My pick:
Rusted Relic

Pack 3 pick 5:
Assault Strobe, Grindclock, Darkslick Drake, Vault Skyward, Blackcleave Goblin, Vulshok Heartstoker, Alpha Tyrranax, Blunt the Assault, Snapsail Glider, Echo Circlet, Forest

My pick:
Snapsail Glider

Pack 3 pick 6:
Revoke Existence, Thrummingbird, Blistergrub, Golem’s Heart, Strider Harness, Psychic Miasma, Withstand Death, Razorfield Thresher, Scoria Elemental, Island

My pick:
Strider Harness

Pack 3 pick 7:
Vault Skyward, Tel-Jilad Defiance, Riddlesmith, Tunnel Ignus, Sylvok Lifestaff, Relic Putrescence, Panic Spellbomb, Soul Parry, Plains

My pick:
Sylvok Lifestaff

Pack 3 pick 8:
Ferrovore, Necrogen Scudder, Psychic Miasma, Glint Hawk, Withstand Death, Razorfield Thresher, Island, Fume Spitter

My pick:
Necrogen Scudder

Pack 3 pick 9:
Plated Seastrider, Viridian Revel, Auriok Sunchaser, Razorfield Thresher, Scoria Elemental, Island, Fume Spitter

My pick:
Fume Spitter

Pack 3 pick 10:
Melt Terrain, Vulshok Heartstoker, Steady Progress, Loxodon Wayfarer, Echo Circlet, Forest

My pick:
Vulshok Heartstoker

Pack 3 pick 11:
Blade-Tribe Berserkers, Blistergrub, Accorder’s Shield, Golden Urn, Plains

My pick:
Accorder’s Shield

Pack 3 pick 12:
Blistergrub, Whitesun’s Passage, Scoria Elemental, Swamp

My pick:
Blistergrub

Pack 3 pick 13:
Assault Strobe, Vault Skyward, Forest

My pick:
Assault Strobe

Pack 3 pick 14:
Scoria Elemental, Island

My pick:
Scoria Elemental

Pack 3 pick 15:
Plains

My pick:
Plains

OK, so there was some slight fibbing going on. This was actually draft #4 online, the other drafts I did I thought I had a sick deck and I just died really horribly. Understanding of the format was obviously a bit squiff, as I ended up forcing the B/R aggro archetype that I did well with at the store, but it just fell apart. Format knowledge or no, it’s pretty easy to see how this almost mono-R deck came together. Coincidentally, Molten-Tail Masticore is absolutely ridiculous. Absolutely.

1 Molten-Tail Masticore
1 Kuldotha Phoenix
3 Galvanic Blast
1 Shatter
1 Arc Trail
1 Oxidda Scrapmelter
1 Leaden Myr
1 Iron Myr
1 Palladium Myr
2 Goblin Gaveler
1 Panic Spellbomb
1 Necrogen Scudder
1 Rusted Relic
1 Snaptail Glider
1 Strider Harness
1 Memnite
1 Sylvok Lifestaff
1 Darksteel Sentinel
1 Accorder’s Shield
1 Vulshok Replica
1 Liquimetal Coating
2 Swamp
14 Mountain

However, despite it being absolutely ridiculous, and the deck being pretty good (not great, I was on a different plan entirely until I opened Masticore and got passed the Phoenix) I only went 2-1 with this, losing in the finals to a big green deck with some infect guys just for defense, a lot of mana myr and annoying cards, topped off with Bellowing Tanglewurm and Liege of the Tangle. I topped off game 3 by drawing 12 land. Masticore was literally on the bottom of my library, with two Blasts and the Phoenix above it. How depressing!

0 Responses to “SOM Online Draft #2”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome to my blog.

Twitter Feed

Categories


