Brewing

Haven’t had a chance to actually play much Magic recently aside from the odd game of EDH and a funky Winston draft. This always results in some brewing on my part, dreaming up decks that no one else would ever dream of being seen dead playing. I played White Weenie Quest at the Games Day a little while back (to incredibly mediocre results) and despite my lack of success there, there is still a little part of me that played this game when I was 11 or 12 that would’ve had a fit over a card like Memnite. A 1/1 for 0 mana and no drawback? That’s insane!

Here’s my current brew for Legacy that utilises the little bot that could, along with a few other cards from Scars of Mirrodin that you may or may not be expecting to see. (Disclaimer: this list is entirely untested, I don’t even own half of the cards, and I’m just running on pure sketchy theory here).

(32) Creatures:
4 Arcbound Ravager
4 Erayo, Soratami Ascendant
4 Frogmite
4 Master of Etherium
4 Memnite
4 Myr Enforcer
4 Ornithopter
4 Vedalken Certarch

(4) Instants:
4 Force of Will

(4) Sorceries:
4 Thoughtcast

(4) Artifacts:
4 Mox Opal

(16) Lands:
2 Blinkmoth Nexus
2 Glimmervoid
Great Furnace
2 Island
4 Seat of the Synod
Vault of Whispers

(15) Sideboard:
3 Cranial Plating
4 Disciple of the Vault
4 Galvanic Blast
4 Tormod’s Crypt

So, this idea came about largely during the SoM spoiler season, when I was also looking for other relatively cheap uses for my Force of Wills (the threshold deck I built is fine, and there are now two different better versions of it, but I want value out of my cards). The Basic gist is to combo off with Erayo, locking a lot of opponents out of the game either completely or for easily long enough for you to spawn a bunch of dudes and beatdown. 20 blue cards total should be enough for Force of Will to be relevant, my only real concern is the mana with only 12 blue sources – but I don’t think I want to cut any more artifact lands. Quick sideboard guide for a couple of major matchups:

Vs. Aggro
-4 Force of Will
+4 Galvanic Blast

Vs. Dredge
-4 Erayo, Soratami Ascendant
+4 Tormod’s Crypt

Vs. Control
-4 Erayo, Soratami Ascendant
-4 Force of Will
-3 Vedalken Certarch
+3 Cranial Plating
+4 Disciple of the Vault
+4 Galvanic Blast

0 Responses to “Brewing”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome to my blog.

Twitter Feed

Categories


