The Little Goblin That Could

Or: I sincerely hope that Goblin Guide gets me there this time (it did once before).

I won a Games Day a little while back, and then didn’t play two or three of them until Scars of Mirrodin fairly recently, on the back of Runeflare Trap.dec – it was a brilliant day, 4-1-1 in the swiss (the loss I easily could have won if I had played tighter, and the draw was an ID in the sixth round when I was locked in anyway) before fairly easily taking the Top 8. A huge part of what made that deck tick (or at least my build of it) was the inclusion of Goblin Guide.

The little red speedy Isamaru really added an extra dimension to the game plan and often gave the impression that I was the beatdown, giving me plenty of room to live until I assembled the combo. The only other Games Day I’ve played since then I got the combo part right (I played Mono-W Quest) but completely missed out on this aspect. Tomorrow I will be slinging this brew:

4 Goblin Bushwhacker
4 Goblin Guide
4 Goblin Wardriver
4 Memnite
3 Ornithopter
4 Signal Pest

2 Chimeric Mass (or, a 1/1 split with Panic Spellbomb)
4 Devastating Summons
4 Kuldotha Rebirth
4 Lightning Bolt
3 Mox Opal

4 Arid Mesa
4 Contested War Zone
10 Mountain
2 Teetering Peaks

2 Act of Treason
4 Arc Trail
2 Hero of Oxid Ridge
3 Jinxed Idol
2 Phyrexian Revoker
2 Tuktuk the Explorer (or, 1 and 1 Koth if I can get one)

I know, I know. It’s a downright dumb deck, as it has just about zero card advantage and just turns cards little better than Raging Goblin sideways for the first couple of turns until it runs out of gas. On the other hand, the number of turn 2 kills that this deck is capable of is horrifying. Usually, it’s a turn 3 or 4 kill, but it certainly can be faster. Don’t think of it as an aggro deck, think of it as a combo deck (like storm) and you’re on the right path.

Win or lose, I’m secure in the knowledge of one thing: at least all my rounds will be short tomorrow! Wish me luck.

0 Responses to “The Little Goblin That Could”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome to my blog.

Twitter Feed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Categories


