Team Kate and Wills

Let's all play some Standard! Wait, no.

That’s what I  nearly registered my deck as on Sunday 1st May, as a sort of commemorative joke, because the deck that I had brought was in fact Team America. Given that we were at GP London on the weekend of the Royal wedding, however, it just felt kind of wrong. Not to mention that I’m sure many would question whether the list that I ran actually qualifies as a real Team America deck or not. Whatever, a blue/black/green shell that pretty much plays all the best cards that it possibly can (read: Force, Bob, Goyf, Brainstorm, Thoughtseize, Big Jace, Hymn, Wasteland etc.) is the exact kind of deck that I like to play – even if it is full of buzz words like ‘tempo’ that don’t really mean anything. Essentially the combination of cost-efficient card draw, discard, removal and beaters leads to a pretty good deck. Here’s the list:

4 Dark Confidant
1 Sower of Temptation
4 Tarmogoyf
1 Vendilion Clique

4 Brainstorm
3 Daze
4 Force of Will
1 Ghastly Demise
2 Go For The Throat
2 Smother
2 Spell Snare

4 Hymn to Tourach
2 Inquisition of Kozilek
2 Ponder
2 Thoughtseize

2 Jace, the Mind Sculptor

2 Bayou
4 Misty Rainforest
2 Polluted Delta
2 Tropical Island
4 Underground Sea
2 Verdant Catacombs
4 Wasteland

Colour breakdown of Team America as people tend to think of it, with more Tombstalker and Stifle.

This list was loosely based on Gerry Thompson’s Top 8 Team America list (which Channel Fireball recently ran in some videos against Ad Nauseum over here) but with some of my own tweaks. For example, going mono-Go For The Throat in maindeck removal seemed like I was asking to get crushed by Affinity (which was quite popular on the day and I knew one of our team was taking), so I changed up for some Smothers and added the Ghastly Demise. I also upped the number of discard spells by one, but the main changes came in the lands and creatures departments.

Terrravore is a good guy, he obviously beats face pretty hard, but he just doesn’t have enough interaction for me so I changed the two of them out for Vendilion Clique, in the first instance. Clique is a bit of a pet card of mine, and is something of a relic from the previous incarnation of my legacy deck which was closer to Canadian Thresh plus Bob, but it always seems to pull its weight when I play it. Then it turns out I misplaced one of my Cliques and after not a whole lot of deliberation I just slammed a Sower in there. It’s blue, it’s a faerie, it flies… close enough for jazz. It also won me several games throughout the day.

End of draw step, Clique you...

Finally, the lands. I used to play über-greedy four-colour thresh with only 18 lands – four of them only producing colourless mana. Going from 22 to 20 in this particular deck seemed fine, as whilst I wasn’t leaning on my filter effects I also felt pretty secure with what I did have. I kept in the same number of actual mana-producing lands anyway, just cut some fetches. Worked out all gravy for me on the day. I’ll write some more tomorrow regarding my sideboard, the matchups and how it all ended up. Sorry for not having written anything else in over a month, I’ve got plenty of stuff lined up for the forseeable.

0 Responses to “Team Kate and Wills”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome to my blog.

Twitter Feed

Categories


